Skip to main content
Rappahannock River Yacht Club
37 39 24 N, 76 26 07 W
HomeTyphoon Fleet

Typhoon Fleet

RRYC hosts the largest fleet of Cape Dory Typhoons in the world with an estimated 50 Typhoons in the vicinity of Carter's Creek and the Central Chesapeake Bay area.  The fleet has an active racing schedule on the Rappahannock River, including the Spring and Fall series and hosts the National Regatta every two years and participates in one-design races at neighboring yacht clubs throughout the year. You do not have to be a member of RRYC to participate with our racing and activities.  If you are interested in a Typhoon, there is a link below to several boats available in our area.  The Wednesday night spring and fall racing series and other Typhoon related activities are posted on the schedule. George Kuper succeeds Bob Damon as the 2021 Fleet Commander and can be reached by email at if you have any questions.

Typhoon Nationals postponed to 2022, dates TBA, per Covid-19

2021 Spring Series starts 21 April 2021


Ty Fall Series 2020

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events