Rappahannock River Yacht Club

RRYC Spring Regatta Results

Perseverance by Ron Mihills and his race Committee and patience by the racers paid off in a great afternoon of racing. A little wind came up around 9am as racers and race committee headed out to the river. Unfortunately by the starting time of 10:30am the wind had all but disappeared. Finally, wind darkened water appeared under the Norris bridge about 2 miles from the signal boat and the RC swept into action, moving the marks to new locations and getting the first start off at 12:45! The light winds forecast kept the participant count low with only two spinnaker boats, Team Hot Air (Tom Chapman, Jeff Branflick, Bill DeCoste Jr and Jesus Lapera) and Team Rattlesnake (Arabella Denvir, Gary Hooper, Jim Engle and David.) Non-spin boats include Team Hippo (Ed Johnson, Doug Jayne, Allison Jayne, Chris Volk and Bob Damon), Team Pocahontas (Ian Ormesher and Judy Fay) and YPRCC Team Silver Fox (Win Schwab and Jim Bearden.) The first race was held in light 4-6 kts with the second and third race held in 8-10kts with gusts 12-14.

In the Non-Spin group, Hippo dominated with all firsts with Silver Fox second and Pocahontas third, with a second place in the third race. Ian and Judy had just launched Pocahontas, a Gloucester 22, Friday night after her long rest in their yard.

In the spinnaker group there was some spirited racing, the high point being the start of the second race in which Arabella demonstrated her well developed match racing starting tactics locking up Hot Air and handily winning the start. After a close windward mark rounding Hot Air got their chute up quicker and kept the lead around the course. Racing is a team sport especially with spinnakers going up and down on short windward leeward courses and Team Hot Air proved superior in sets and douses. Team Rattlesnake, well a proven group of sailors had not sailed together previously as Arabella and Gary were helping to train Jim Engle and his crew (2018 Turkey Shoot winner) for their planned National Hospice Regatta appearance which will be raced in J-24s on Lake Ontario.

Many thanks to our RC led by PRO Ron Mihills; Signal boat driver- Mike Kennedy, Scorer- Ray Britt, Flags -Roy Combs, Spotter -Randy Romaine, Mark Boat driver- Committee Boat: Mike Kennedy – Driver, Ray Britt – Scorer, Roy Combs – Flags, Randy Romaine – Spotter. Mark Boat driver- George Kuper and crew Art Gilbert.

Overall Results:


Hippo                 Ed Johnson    1,1,1       Total     3            First place

Silver Fox           Jim Bearden    2,2,3     Total       7          Second Place

Pocahontas       Ian Ormesher 3, 3, 2     Total     8            Third Place


Hot Air            Tom Chapman    1,1,1        Total 3            First Place

Rattlesnake    Arabella Denvir    2,2,2      Total 6            Second Place